Cyprus Government Organization and Political System

The constitution in Cyprus separates state power into legislative, executive and judicial branches.  These three state powers are independent and autonomous to each other. Each state power decides about its rules.

Executive power has the responsibility to implement laws, to ensure protection and security of the country, to arrange its relations with other nations and take necessary measures for economic, social and cultural progress of the people. Executive power in Cyprus is exercised by the President. The President organizes the cabinet which is going to handle these matters and selects the ministers.

Today in Cyprus there are eleven ministries. The Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of Natural resources and Environment, Ministry of Justice and Public Order, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Labor and Social Security, Ministry of the Interior, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Education and Culture and the Ministry of Communications and Works.

The legislative power is organized by the House of Representatives.

Judicial power is exercised by the Supreme Court and lower courts.

Attorney General's Office, the Executive its inspectors, the Central Bank of Cyprus, The Public Service Commission and the Education Service Commission are independent services and they don’t belong to any Ministry.